Skip to Content

In any investment, you expect to have fun and make money. Michael Jordan

FIBA EuroBasket

FIBA We Are Basketball Logo

The FIBA EuroBasket is the main competition for national sides in European basketball. The first ever championship was held in 1936 and since 1947, the tournament has taken place every two years. This format will change in 2017, when the tournament converts to being on a four year cycle as opposed to being a two year cycle.

Plans for the 2015 event have been difficult though and in June of 2014, the Ukraine lost the rights to host the 2015 edition due to the troubles in the country. In September 2014, FIBA announced that the 2015 FIBA EuroBasket event would be spread out amongst Croatia, France, Germany and Latvia with the draw for the 2015 event taking place in Disneyland, Paris in December 2014.

The most successful team in this tournaments history is the now defunct Soviet Union, who held 14 titles. France are the reigning champions, winning the tournament in 2013, but of course, they will be defending their crown in the 2015 EuroBasket tournament.

There have been a number of different formats and styles used in the tournament. The current number of teams taking part in the final tournament is 24, whereas up until the 2011 event, this number was set at 16. In the 24 team event, 8 places are automatically given out. The host nation qualifies automatically and the top 7 ranked teams from the previous EuroBasket event are placed directly into the event.

This leaves 16 spaces up for groups. The remaining teams (31) were placed into 6 groups. This was split as 5 groups of 5 and a group of 6. The top 2 sides from a group automatically gained entry to the EuroBasket event and the top 4 ranked third placed teams gained entry.

FIBA EuroBasket Trophy

This creates the 24 teams that play off in a host nation. The nature of the tournament then sees four groups being created each with 4 teams in it. The three best teams in each group proceed to the second round.

The second round sees the 12 teams be placed into two groups of 6. The top four sides in each group progress to the knockout round.

Knock-out round pairings were pre-determined as:

  • E1 v F4
  • F3 v E2
  • F1 v E4
  • F2 v E3

Winners of the top two ties play each other in the semi-final while the winners of the bottom two ties play each other in the other semi-final. There is a 5th placed bracket event, which sees the four losing quarter finalists play against each other. The losers of this tie play in the 7th Placed match, while the winners play in the 5th Placed match. The losers of the semi-final play in the 3rd Placed match. This allows a ranking of 1st through to 8th to be created, which plays a part in the qualification process for the next FIBA EuroBasket event and the FIBA Basketball World Cup.

The 2015 EuroBasket

Due to the upheaval in the Ukraine, the 2015 EuroBasket event is being staged across four countries, although the premise of the tournament is as outlined above. On Monday the 8th of December, 2014, FIBA Europe arrived at the EuroDisney resort in Paris to carry out the draw for the group stages of the 2015 EuroBasket tournament. Each host nation was allocated to the Group being located in their country and the 24 teams were split into 6 seeded groups, with four teams in each pot.


The groups consists of a team from each pot.

The groups are:

FIBA EuroBasket 2015
Group A Group B Group C Group D
France Spain Croatia Lithuania
Finland Serbia Slovenia Ukraine
Bosnia and Herzegovina Turkey Greece Latvia
Poland Italy F.Y.R. of Macedonia Belgium
Israel Germany Georgia Czech Republic
Russia Iceland Netherlands Estonia

The 2013 EuroBasket

FIBA EuroBasket 2013 Logo

The 2013 FIBA EuroBasket event was held in Slovenia and it was the first time that France had ever won the event. France defeated Lithuania by 80-66 on the 22nd of September in Ljublana in front of a 10,000 crowd. At the 2013 event, three teams held an 8-3 record. Eventual winners France, Lithuania and Croatia all held an 8-3 record; Spain and Slovenia held a 7-4 record.

Teams who qualified for the 2015 EuroBasket event thanks to their record at the 2013 EuroBasket event were:

  • Ukraine
  • France
  • Lithuania
  • Spain
  • Croatia
  • Slovenia
  • Serbia
  • Italy

All of the above nations, with the exception of Italy, have qualified for the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup, scheduled to be held in Spain, thanks to their ranking at the 2013 EuroBasket.

EuroBasket 2017 Draft CeremonyThe EuroBasket 2017 event is set to the 40th edition of the tournament and this edition ushers in a new format. From 2017, the event will take place every four years and there will be a new qualification system in place that will be similar to that used by the FIBA Basketball World Cup. While... Continue Reading »

Spain Win EuroBasket 2015They may have lost two games during the group stages but Spain showed that it is always best to win when it really matters. The Spanish side were in full control of the EuroBasket 2015 final against Lithuania and they were well deserved winners. The final score of the EuroBasket 2015 final was: Spain 80... Continue Reading »


Social Media

Follow on social media and stay up to date at all times!